THE BALL – Max Verstappen wins French GP (Formula 1)

Max Verstappen, by winning the French GP, round 12 of the 2022 World Cup, at the Circuit de Paul Ricard, in Le Castellet, equaled Jackie Stewart’s record of 27 victories in Formula 1 and ascended to position 8 in the list of the best drivers. -successful in the history of the category. The Scotsman, currently 83 years old, ended his career in 1973, after winning his third title. Already the 2021 champion accelerates to second: today, taking advantage of Charles Leclerc’s mistake, who retired on lap 18, when he was leading a race with 53, added the seventh success of the year and increased the advantage for the Monegasque Ferrari from 38 points to 63.

In the race that marked the beginning of the second half of the season, Lewis Hamilton, in the 300th GP in Formula 1, achieved the best result of the season (second) and the 187th podium of his career, Behind the British Mercedes driver, the compatriot and teammate George Russell, third after surprising Sergio Pérez, in Red Bull, in the final moments of the action in Paul Ricard. For the German team, champion of constructors between 2014 and 2021 (!), two drivers in the «top-3» for the first time this year.

Verstappen and Red Bull repeated the success of 2021 at the French GP and, this year, the success also benefited a team that has not won among the constructors since 2013. Taking advantage of Leclerc’s mistake (the Monegasque recognized it in the first conversations with the media …) and the various strategic indecisions of Ferrari that penalized Carlos Sainz, the Austrian team gained a more comfortable advantage in the «race» for this title: now, instead of 56 points, it has 82 more than the Italian rival.

Round 13 of the Formula 1 World Cup takes place next weekend, with the Hungarian GP, ​​at the Hungaroring, in the suburbs of Budapest.


1st Max Verstappen, Red Bull-RBPT, 1:30.02.112 h

2nd Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, +10,587 s

3rd George Russell, Mercedes, +16,495 s

4th Sergio Pérez, Red Bull-RBPT, +17.310 s

5th Carlos Sainz Jr., Ferrari, +28.872 s

6th Fernando Alonso, Alpine-Renault, +42.879 s

7th Lando Norris, McLaren-Mercedes, +52.026 s

8th Esteban Ocon, Alpine-Renault, +56,959 s

9th Daniel Ricciardo, McLaren-Mercedes, +1.00.372 m

10th Lance Stroll, Aston Martin-Mercedes, 1.02.549 m

11th Sebastian Vettel, Aston Martin-Mercedes, +1.04.494 m

12th Pierre Gasly, AlphaTauri-RBPT, +1.05.448 m

13th Alexander Albon, Williams-Mercedes, +1.08.565 m

14th Valtteri Bottas, Alfa Romeo-Ferrari, +1.16.666 m

15th Mick Schumacher, Haas-Ferrari, +1,20,394 m

16th Zhou Guanyu, Alfa Romeo-Ferrari, +6 laps

17th Nicholas Latifi, Williams-Mercedes, Abandon

18th Kevin Magnussen, Haas-Ferrari, Abandon

19th Yuki Tsunoda, AlphaTauri-RBPT, Abandon

20th Charles Leclerc, Ferrari, Abandon

Drivers’ Championship

1st Max Verstappen, 233 points

2nd Charles Leclerc, 170 points

3rd Sergio Perez, 163 points

4th Carlos Sainz Jr., 144 points

5th George Russell, 144 points

6th Lewis Hamilton, 127 points

7th Lando Norris, 70 points

8th Esteban Ocon, 56 points

9th Valtteri Bottas, 46 points

10th Fernando Alonso, 37 points

11th Kevin Magnussen, 22 points

12th Daniel Ricciardo, 19 points

13th Pierre Gasly, 16 points

14th Sebastian Vettel, 15 points

15th Mick Schumacher, 12 points

16th Yuki Tsunoda, 11 points

17th Zhou Guanyu, 5 points

18th Lance Stroll, 4 points

19th Alexander Albon, 3 points

20th Nicholas Latifi, 0 points

21st Nico Hülkenberg, 0 points

Constructors’ World

1st Red Bull-RBPT, 396 points

2nd Ferrari, 314 points

3rd Mercedes, 270 points

4th Alpine-Renault, 93 points

5th McLaren-Mercedes, 89 points

6th Alfa Romeo-Ferrari, 51 points

7th Haas-Ferrari, 34 points

8th AlphaTauri-RBPT, 27 points

9th Aston Martin-Mercedes, 19 points

10th Williams-Mercedes, 3 points