Summer Readings… Are Books Like Clothes?

In fact, this unique innovation is reminiscent, in large part, of the clothing stores that announce the arrival of the models of the summer collection. Coats, sweaters and heavy boots disappear, in place of lighter, half-sleeved shirts, shorts, shorts, and walkers, and the invitation to this collection mixes with talk of the sea, walks on the beach, and jogging in the fresh air.

There are, too, models suitable for spring, when flowers and birds chirp, or autumn, when the leaves are falling.

But how can books be affected by changes in weather and different seasons? If clothes change in their fabrics, textures and designs, what literary scale weighs books in terms of their suitability for summer or winter? With what literary mind does such a screening take place? Rather, it is a purely commercial endeavor, from which the mentality of quick, immediate profit has emerged: taking advantage of the right circumstance at the right time. A profitable classification that lists books in the category of commodities that we must demand and buy in order to keep pace with fashion and the spirit of time. A marketing mind searches for the best ways to pass the goods in the chosen season before they fade and become stagnant in the stores.

The novel here is a made material, i.e. a commodity, that tempts the customer (the reader) to buy it, just like chocolate, Coca-Cola or razor blades, which Gillette excels in marketing new models from time to time. There is nothing wrong with the writer himself carrying his material, his merchandise, and advertising for it, and he appears in television interviews, many copies of his book have been piled up in front of him, in the form of cans, and a large, colorful picture has been prepared for him, placed in front of the store, the library, and on his face a broad smile, like an actor Television advertising for toothpaste.

The Guardian newspaper prepared, in fact, two separate reports which it published in the same issue. The first is an interrogation of male and female novelists about the texts they suggest as books to read this summer. The second is a long list of fifty books, which he prepared Justin Jordanthe newspaper’s literary editor, andDavid Shariatmadarinon-fiction text editor, andImogen Williams Children’s book editor.
Bernardine Evaristowho won the Man Booker Prize for her novel Girl, Woman, Another, proposes a collection of black poets in Britain.

Hilary MantelHer star, whose famous novel “Every Day Is Mother’s Day”, made a publicity for the young novelist Stephen Mayne and his novel “We Sold the Mountain”, which deals with the life of Joseph Stalin.

Ali SmithScottish writer promoting her friend’s novel Camila Shamsi. The funny thing is that the novel has not yet been published. It’s coming out in the fall, she tells us (it’s Autumn, then not Summer), so instead of talking about the unpublished novel, she sings of redundant praise for her Pakistani friend, the British.
Jonathan Franzenthe author of the novel Freedom, talks about a book he read last year (we don’t know when he read it, in the winter or in the summer), a collection of articles and short stories, by the American writer Jo Ann Bird.

Olivia LingShe says, “Do not hesitate to buy a novel – Bad People – about a same-sex relationship.”

Indian novelist bing mishra, Propaganda for the Indian novelist Arundhati Roy (Blood does not become water, as we know).

Colm ToibenThe famous Irish novelist, the author of “The Will of Mary”, talks about a book by the seventy-year-old American poet Marie Rommel.
Pakistani Muhammad Hanif He suggests “Goat Days” to Hindi, the Malayami, Benjamin, which is a pseudonym. A biography of his bitter experience in Saudi Arabia when he came to work and fell into what looks like hell.

Robert MacFarlane Our attention is drawn to a text on “Walking with Trees” in which espionage goes hand in hand with an obsession with plants, flowers, and environmental conservation.
Pakistani Fatima Bhutto She suggests a book of poetry by Frank O’Hara, who died in 1966.

As for the list proposed by the newspaper itself, with the determination of its three editors, it is entitled:

Summer Reading: The 50 Hottest New Books for a Great Escape: “The 50 Hottest Books for a Great Escape.”

Novel “Review” byCharlotte Mendelsohnwe are told that she won the Woman’s Award (This is the first time I’ve heard of this award. Maybe soon we will hear about the Man’s Award).
The novel “Glory” by the Zimbabwean writer Novolet BulawayoAbout the fall of the dictator Robert Mugabe.

Monica Alithe author of the famous novel “Break Avenue”, released this year her new novel “Love Marriage” (I am going to read it now, but without any thought of summer).
Osman YousefzadehAfghani, British, tells his biography, who grew up among the Muslim community in Birmingham to become a fashion designer Beyonce And theLady Gaga.

“Beautiful World, Which Are You?”, Irish Novel Sally Rooney On “Love, Sex, Fame, Anxiety”.

These are some of the titles from a long list of novels, poetry collections, biographies, articles, studies and children’s books.

And what can we notice if we closely scrutinize these texts?

It is, all of them, for writers with a left-leaning, liberal tendency, who are devoted to left-wing newspapers, such as the “Guardian”, that is, writers who are pushed by the establishment to the fore.

There is not a single title, be it a novel, poetry, or a non-literary text, for a writer outside the liberal classification, that is, those who are stigmatized as right-wing or opposed to the narratives popular in the discourse perpetuated by the so-called “political correctness”. Forgotten and forgotten is all that is outside the Garden of Eden…summer, where water is albumen and good fruit…which focus on the themes that are the “core” of liberal preoccupation now: people of color, identity, homosexuality, the environment. These, and others, are topics that occupy our minds in all seasons, and not only in the summer.

.