forget Vikings, the reviews of the film are rave reviews

The Northmanthe new vikings movie from Robert Eggers, is one of the most anticipated cinematic works of this year. And it is not the first more than enthusiastic reviews that will calm our enthusiasm.

After his first two successes, even more expectations around the next film by Robert Eggers

In just two films, The Witch and The Lighthouse, director Robert Eggers has earned a solid reputation throughout Hollywood. The dark and heavy atmospheres were the hallmark of his first two opuses, winning the hearts of fans. His next project will take place in the universe of the Vikings, and it’s already looking absolutely epic.

It will not have escaped you, vikings have really taken pop culture by storm in recent years. Series vikings, broadcast from 2013 to 2020, chronicles the adventures of the famous Ragnar Lothbrok following his visions of the God Odin and his Valkyries. This successful series has also given birth to a spin-off, Vikings: Valhalla, which started broadcasting in February this year. We can also cite the series The Last Kingdomwhich presents a divided England undergoing the Viking invasions, or even the video games with big success Assassin’s Creed Valhallaand the last two god of war. Yes The Northman must therefore make a place for itself in this Viking universe, it seems that it has been done, and with the way.

The Northman: the first unanimous reviews

If the press has not yet been able to deliver its analyzes and feelings, critics who have had access to the film are rave reviews. They relate in particular a vengeance of immense ferocity, an almost animal brutality in a dark and mystical atmosphere. We have selected for you some of the publications of the most excited tweets:

It’s a crying shame that THE NORTHMAN has been so criminally mishandled because it’s precisely what blockbuster cinema should aspire to, and still has the potential to be. Formally audacious but welcoming; easy to follow but not, simply, a guided tour. Five big ‘ol stars. Bjork! pic.twitter.com/vXpDLOrU7b

April 5, 2022

It’s a shame The Northman was handled so badly [le réalisateur avait partagé ses frustrations quant à la trop grande implication d’Universal lors du montage, ndlr], because it’s exactly what you’d expect from a blockbuster, and it has all the potential to be. Formally bold yet welcoming; easy to follow but not a guided tour. Five big stars. Bjork! Jack King

#TheNorthman is BRUTAL. Skarsgard is oozing w/ revenge-fueled ferocity from start to finish. Loved the choice to capture so much — action & dialogue-heavy beats — in one shot. Lets the exceptional cast shine & ensures you feel every ounce of this movie’s passion & aggression. pic.twitter.com/7nC2kfAUGo

April 5, 2022

The Northman is BRUTAL. Skarsgard oozes revenge-fueled ferocity from start to finish. I loved the choice to capture so much action and strong dialogue in one shot. Let the outstanding cast shine and ensure you feel every ounce of their passion and aggression. Perri Nemiroff

The Northman is spectacular. It’s surprisingly Eggers’ most accessible film, but no less immersive in its authentic feel. It’s a gripping revenge story that keeps its hand around your throat & visually stunning. Compelled me to whisper “holy shit!” several times. #TheNorthman pic.twitter.com/5VDbxIqU0s

April 5, 2022

The Northman is spectacular. Surprisingly, this is Eggers’ most accessible film, remaining immersive and authentic. It’s a gripping revenge story that keeps its hand on your throat while being visually stunning. He made me whisper “oh fuck!” several times. Eric Eisenberg

#TheNorthman is Robert Eggers’ best film yet. Stunning cinematography sets the scene for the perfect merger of otherworldly Norse mythology with the brutal reality of Viking history. Bloodthirsty. Powerful. Spiritual. @TheNorthmanFilm is a magnificent and epic saga for the ages. pic.twitter.com/hSa1S0Mc3Z

April 5, 2022

The Northman is Robert Eggers’ best film so far. Stunning cinematography sets the scene for the perfect fusion of otherworldly Norse mythology and the brutal reality of Viking history. Bloodthirsty. Powerful. Spiritual. The Northman is the magnificent and epic saga of the century. Maggie Lovitt

THE NORTHMAN is exactly what you’d expect from a $90 million Viking revenge film by Robert Eggers. Brutal & dazzling with a vast attention to detail. Story is pretty straightforward & slow early on but I was still in awe of its spectacle. Alexander Skarsgard is an absolute beast. pic.twitter.com/eTJlWGNeRe

April 5, 2022

The Northman is exactly what you can expect from a $90 million Viking rematch directed by Robert Eggers. Brutal and dazzling with attention to detail. The story is quite simple and rather slow at first, but I was speechless watching this show. Alexander Skarsgard is an absolute monster. Matt Neglia

Watching Robert Eggers’ Viking revenge epic THE NORTHMAN, I often alternated btw clapping & squeaking. Stunning choreography, gruesome in ways I still can’t fully believe. Not w/o its setbacks but it’s the kind of film whose existence feels like a miracle today. & I’ll take it.

April 5, 2022

Watching Robert Eggers’ epic viking revenge, The Northman, I often alternated between applause and squealing. Stunning choreography but also disturbing in a way that I still can’t fully comprehend. Not free from setbacks, it’s the kind of film whose existence is likened to a miracle today, so I take it. Tomris Laffly

Robert Eggers’ #TheNorthman is hauntingly visceral & super transfixing. You definitely won’t be able to take your eyes off this blood-soaked revenge tale. Alexander Skarsgård is a BEAST & ferocious throughout. Nicole Kidman has a couple scenes that floored me. Daring & devilish pic.twitter.com/9DMX3Mm4sq

April 5, 2022

The Northman by Robert Eggers is viscerally captivating and absolutely petrifying. You clearly won’t be able to take your eyes off this bloodthirsty fable. Alexander Skarsgard is a fierce BEAST all the way. I was carried away by several scenes of Nicole Kidman. Bold and diabolical.

The Northman: Robert Eggers has made his Gladiator. A satisfying, emotional revenge epic that kept me guessing and engaged with its beautiful language, mythology, and cinematography. Smaller than the trailers make it seem but still powerful and moving. The final battle is ud83dudd25ud83dudd25ud83dudd25. pic.twitter.com/VKQK3GSTzb

April 5, 2022

The Northman : Robert Eggers made his Gladiator. Epic, satisfying, and emotional revenge that kept me hooked with its beautiful language, mythology, and cinematography. Less grandiose than the trailers suggest, but still powerful and moving. The final battle is amazing. German Lussier

A bit of a lazy shorthand maybe, but #TheNorthman is basically Robert Eggers’ answer to 300. Violent, visceral, weird and at times staggeringly beautiful, it’s a tremendous action movie mixed in with some truly haunting moments. Skarsgard is an absolute beast. pic.twitter.com/78V1AC5xTT

April 5, 2022

Maybe a little lazy, but The Northman is essentially Robert Eggers’ answer to the movie 300. Violent, visceral, strange and at times stunningly beautiful, it’s a heart-pounding action movie with some truly spellbinding moments. Skarsgard is an absolute beast. Rory Cashin

Although based on a rather banal revenge scenario, The Northman seems to succeed in the tour de force of embarking the viewer in a fierce and brutal atmosphere, carried by a 5-star cast. We look forward to May 11, 2022, the date of its release in French cinemas.